Getting Your Head Around Papervision3D

November 14, 2008

I recently got a question on “how to get your head around papervision3D”. This was a really good question since going to the next level in Papervison does require some digging. Since there isn’t much out there yet!

Here is what I did;

1. I read all the blog links of course – many of which you can find under mylinks on by book site at

http://professionalpapervision.wordpress.com/

2. I read every 3D book I could get off of Amazon – many of them are less than a dollar if you buy used.

3. I used the video tutorial service lynda.com which actually does two tutorial series on particles (one by Seb) and extensive Flex, 3DSmax, AS3, and Flash. I’ve used lynda for years.

4. I dug really hard on Blender – not much out there – but some tutorials on Youtube, a book on Amazon, and a tutorials series on Wikipedia at

http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Blender_3D:_Noob_to_Pro/

5. I started digging into the Papervision code and modifying the classes and comparing that to what I was reading in the books I bought off of Amazon. This really helped a bunch. Flex is the best environment to do this in. You can ctrl link to other classes which helps tremendously in tracking things down.

6. I took John Grden’s Papervision Optimization class which was relatively cheap from the rich media institute.

http://www.richmediainstitute.com/

7. I used Sothink to look at what others were doing. If you want to write good code you need to look at good code. But use the old rule – look but don’t touch. No reason to take other people’s code. (This sounds a little pedantic – decompiling is a very sensitive area and I answer a reader’s concern in the comments) You can write your own more rapidly, but it does no harm to look at good ideas. SWF is an open format.

8. I dug through the code of other open source projects such as Sandy, Away3D, WOW, vectorvision , panosalado , Flint Particle System , and Mr. Doobs Previewer.

9. Finally, I prayed a lot.

Hope this helps!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.